New Mexico

New Mexico


geographical name | encyclopedia
Pronounced: \noo mek-si-koh, nyoo mek-si-koh\ | IPA:/nu ˈmɛk sɪˌkoʊ, nyu ˈmɛk sɪˌkoʊ/

Definition of New Mexico

a state in the Southwestern United States of America; the capital is Santa Fe and its largest city is Albuquerque; founded in 1598 as a province of New Spain called Santa Fe de Nuevo México, became a territory of Mexico in 1821, obtained as the New Mexico Territory by the United States in 1848, and gained American statehood in 1912. The current territorial borders encompass some parts that were once part of Alta California, Texas, Sonora, and Chihuahua. The State is proud of its Native American Pueblo and Spanish roots, and is proudly touted in everything from the Flag of New Mexico to New Mexican cuisine to New Mexico music.

New Mexico culturally consists of the Pueblo modern culture, Navajo modern culture, Apache modern culture, Santa Fe de Nuevo México culture, Mexican modern culture, and the American modern culture. The State’s Pueblos and reservations are self-governing dependencies. Furthermore multiple modern world cultures are represented within New Mexico.

Examples of New Mexico

Origin of New Mexico

The Ancient Puebloan culture have had numerous settlements throughout the current land of New Mexico, and the Athabaskan peoples of the Navajo and Apache have long called the area home. The Pueblos first formed in circa 1000 AD, and Santa Fe de Nuevo México formed in 1598, the Pueblo formally united in 1680 under the Pueblo Revolt, and the Spanish officially united with the Pueblos in 1692 during the bloodless reconquest. Their land became part of Mexico in 1821, and officially its territorial phase in 1824 under Mexico, and again in 1848 under America. New Mexico joined the union of the United States of America in 1912.


Alternate names: NM, Nuevo México, Nuevo Méjico, Yootó Hahoodzo.
First Known Use: 16th century
Area: 121,589.48 sq mi. Population: 2,059,179. Capital city: Santa Fe (pop. 67,947). Biggest city: Albuquerque (pop. 545,852). Metropolitan areas: Albuquerque Metro (pop. 907,679). Las Cruces Metro (pop. 209,233). Santa Fe Metro (pop. 144,170). Farmington Metro (pop. 130,004). Government: Under the United States Constitution and the Constitution of New Mexico. Executive branch: Governor of New Mexico (commander-in-chief of New Mexico National Guard). Legislative branch: New Mexico Senate and the New Mexico House of Representatives. Judicial branch: New Mexico Supreme Court, New Mexico Court of Appeals, and 13 New Mexico District Courts. Racial makeup: Hispanic of any race 47.3%. Non-Hispanic White 39.4%, Hispanic White 28.97, Native American 10.4%, African American 2.5%, Multi-racial 2.4%, Asian American 1.6%, Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0.2%. Languages: English 63.96%, with the New Mexican English dialect 32.8% and American English dialects 31.16%. Spanish, with the most popular dialects being Latin American Spanish and New Mexican Spanish. Navajo 3.5%, Keres 0.68%, Zuni 0.48%, other Native American languages 0.56%, including Tiwa, Hopi, Jemez, Jicarilla, Mescalero-Chiricahua, and Apache. Other languages under 0.05% represented in New Mexico are: German, French, Vietnamese, Chinese, Tagalog, Japanese, Arabic, Korean, Italian, Russian, Polish, Persian, Portuguese, Laotian, Dutch, Greek, Hebrew, Thai, Hindi, Tamil, Mandarin, and Hungarian. Religions (by adherents): Christian (Catholic, Protestant, Latter-day Saints, Non-denominational), Atheism, Muslim, Buddhism (Mahayana, Theravada), Judaism (Reform, Conservative, Orthodox), Native American religion, Neopaganism, Bahá’í.


About Heaven Sent Gaming

You May Also Like